Favorite things swap.

One of the blogs I read mentioned in a post today about doing a swap through Instagram. And I guess people are doing swaps through Instagram. Well they start on Instagram and end with everyone buying stuff (or making stuff I guess if that’s what the swap is about) and then mailing it to another person. I used to do these about…. Oh geez. 10 years ago??? Man oh man do I feel old.

I used to read and post on Usenet message boards in the late 90s and early 2000s. And one of the ones I read was a goth fashion board and they would do swaps all the time. Let’s see how many I can remember… There was a glow in the dark one (I think I even started/hosted this one?), bath items, .99 cent store and favorite animal. I think I did more than 4 but can’t remember the other ones. The glow in the dark one was my favorite one! I sent such cool stuff too.

Sometimes you would get a partner and mail to them directly. Other times you would send everything to the host’s house and then the host would mail everything out.

There was also a stationery swap and I think I did the Halloween swap one year. I’m trying to find a post now.

Here’s what I got in the Gitd swap. https://groups.google.com/forum/m/#!searchin/alt.gothic.fashion/Gitd$20swap/alt.gothic.fashion/b6FZe7xr2-A

Here’s what I sent someone in the favorite animal swap: https://groups.google.com/forum/m/#!search/Swap$20velvetfrogg$20animal/alt.gothic.fashion/7Zi8Y0UdigM I wish I had pictures of the pillows. They were pretty awesome if I do say so myself.

I should sleep soon.

So yeah, I was doing swaps over 10 years ago. And now people are doing them through Instagram. I’m tempted to check it out and possibly join. Not sure how they decide if someone is trust worthy to join the swap or not.

They use #favthingsswap.

Leave a Reply

